Many roads and tracks are seasonally closed to vehicle traffic each year. As rain and snow softens the tracks, making them vulnerable to damage, these tracks are closed to vehicles for visitor safety, to maintain water quality and prevent erosion during the wetter months.

Seasonal road closures generally operate from after the King's Birthday long weekend in June through to the end of October. In 2022, many remained in place into November and December in places affected by significant rainfall and flooding across Victoria.

Remember to check individual park pages and the changed conditions and closures page before you go for other changes to conditions relating to fire, flood, and storm affected parks. 

The Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA) is responsible for managing areas adjacent to parks and reserves managed by Parks Victoria. See MapshareVic for information about closures managed by DEECA.

List of 2022 seasonal road closures

2022 seasonal closure maps

As the list of road closures is similar each year, these maps will remain available until the 2023 maps have been released.

List of 2022 seasonal road closures
Map 1: Little Desert National Park (West)
Map 2: Dergholm State Park
Map 3: Little Desert National Park
Map 4: Black Range State Park, Glenelg River Fulham Streamside Reserve
Map 5: Grampians National Park
Map 6: Narrawong Flora Reserve
Map 7: Belfast Coastal Reserve
Map 8: Kara Kara National Park
Map 9: Mount Buangor State Park
Map 10: Kooyoora State Park
Map 11: Paddys Ranges State Park
Map 12: Lake Burrumbeet Lake Reserve
Map 13: Greater Bendigo National Park
Map 14: Hepburn Regional Park
Map 15: Macedon Regional Park
Map 16: Lerderderg State Park
Map 17: Enfield State Park
Map 18A: Great Otway National Park (West)
Map 18B: Great Otway National Park (Central)
Map 18C: Great Otway National Park (East)
Map 18D: Great Otway National Park (North East)
Map 19: Tallarook State Forest
Map 20: Mount Disappointment State Forest
Map 21: Kinglake Central State Forest
Map 22: Paul Range State Forest
Map 23A: Yarra Ranges National Park (North West)
Map 23B: Yarra Ranges National Park (North)
Map 23C: Yarra Ranges National Park (East)
Map 23D: Yarra Ranges National Park (South)

Map 24: Warburton State Forest

Map 25: Bunyip State Park
Map 26: Sweetwater Creek Nature Conservation Reserve
Map 27: Baw Baw National Park
Map 28: Proposed Murray River Park
Map 29: Lower Ovens Wildlife Reserve
Map 30: Warby Ovens National Park
Map 31: Mount Samaria State Park, Reef Hills State Park             
Map 32: Lake Eildon National Park (South)             
Map 33: Howqua Hills Historic Area             
Map 34A: Alpine National Park (West A)
Map 34B: Alpine National Park (North West)
Map 34C: Alpine National Park (West B)
Map 34D: Alpine National Park (Central)
Map 34E: Alpine National Park (North)
Map 34F: Alpine National Park (North East)
Map 34G: Alpine National Park (East)
Map 34H: Alpine National Park (South East)
Map 34I: Alpine National Park (South West)
Map 35: Mount Skene Natural Features and Scenic Reservve
Map 36: Mount Buffalo National Park             
Map 37: Nine Mile Creek Historic Area             
Map 38: Burrowa - Pine Mountain National Park
Map 39: Tallangatta South
Map 40: Wentworth State Forest
Map 41: Snowy River National Park
Map 42: Errinundra National Park
Map 43: Lake Wellington
Map 44: The Lakes National Park, Gippsland Lakes Coastal Park
Map 45: Ewing Morass Wildlife Reserve
Map 46: Croajingolong National Park (West)
Map 47: Croajingolong National Park (East)

For further information visitors are advised to contact the Parks Victoria Information Centre on 13 1963 or the DEECA Customer Service Centre on 136 186.

By using our site you accept that we use and share cookies and similar technologies with certain approved third parties. These tools enable us to improve your website experience and to provide content and ads tailored to your interests. By continuing to use our site you consent to this. Please see our Privacy Policy for more information.